Deleting and Recovering Files

What We'll Learn

  1. How to delete files
  2. How to work with the Recycle Bin


Deleting Files

Part of the process of staying organized may include cleaning things up from time to time.  At any time you can easily delete a file or folder if it is no longer required.  Here's what happens:
  • Deleted files are sent to the Recycle Bin. The Recycle Bin should be visible on your Desktop
  • You can also drag files into the Recycle Bin to easily delete them.
  • You can double click the Recycle Bin and then recover deleted files


Exercise 1 - Recycling Files

Use these steps to delete a file:
  1. <Double-Click> the Recycle Bin to view its contents.
  2. Open a second window containing some sample files from our last tutorial 
  3. Click on a file to select it.
  4. Press the <Delete> key on your keyboard.
  5. You will be asked if you want to send the file to the Recycle Bin.  Click OK
You should now see that the file has been moved from the folder into the Recycle Bin. 
 
Use these steps to recover the file:
  1. In the Recycle Bin, click on the file you wish to recover
  2. Choose Recover from the menu, or use the <Right-Click> menu and select Recover

The file will dissappear from the Recylce Bin and be placed back in the folder it was deleted from.  This allows you to easily recover files you may have accidentally deleted from your computer.  


Gone for Good

If you choose to Empty the Recycle Bin the files are then permanently deleted.  That file can no longer be recovered, except by special tools used by technical staff.  Parts of the files do remain on the drive until they are overwritten.  It's important to know this if you are discarding your computer and you want to be sure that all the information is destroyed and cannot be accessed.
 
Tech Defense provides a service for Secure Disposal of your information.


Next